[RECRUITING] Web Comic - Oracle MIA

Have you got a Batman project that you're working on? Web comic? Fan film? Cosplay? Live Action Role Play Group?
Share it or find fellow contributors here!

[RECRUITING] Web Comic - Oracle MIA

Postby Red_Robin » Aug 15th, 2014, 8:05 am

Fan Comic Series - Batman: Oracle MIA

Using Phil Cho's art as a base, we settled upon a look for each of our major characters.
Check out Phil's work here.

I'm no artist (as you can see), but here is the initial character sketch that I came up with.

The Premise
After years of endless crossovers with the rest of the DCU (some of which we enjoyed) we were starting to get irritated by the way that the Batman characters were being pushed into editorial, rather than creative, mandated directions. The relaunch known as the New52 was too much. Though both of us have lost a lot of our enthusiasm for DC Comics, one half of our writing duo has stopped buying DC books altogether due unnecesary changes to characters and a lack of engaging stories.

After much discussion of what we wanted to see from Batman stories and what our favourite aspects of the Batman continuity were, we managed to plan out our own version of a reboot. We have plotted out Batman's past, present and future: we know where the characters are going (it's clear that DC editorial have no clear plan).

For the most part, the characters' origins remain the same, but there have been some slight tweaks here and there to suit story and how we have arranged continuity. Where we have made some changes, it was essential that we didn't change the core of the character. The character we changed the most, Cassandra Cain, is still the same character that people would recognise from the comics, but we included some different elements to tie her to Lady Shiva and introduce her to the Batclan, since we removed No Man's Land from our truncated timeline.

The World
Gotham City exists in a version of the DCU where superheroes simply never happened.